Our curriculum, which is based on the national guidelines of A Curriculum for Excellence, aims to help the children to develop as confident individuals, responsible citizens, effective contributors and successful learners.

Every child and young person should experience a Broad Scottish Curriculum that develops skills for learning, skills for life and skills for work, with a sustained focus on literacy and numeracy that encourages an active, healthy and environmentally sustainable lifestyle and builds an appreciation of Scotland and its place in the world.

The experiences and outcomes under Curriculum for Excellence are written at five levels, with progression to qualifications described under the senior phase.

  • Early Level – the pre-school years and P1, or later for some
  • First Level – to the end of P4, but earlier for some
  • Second Level – to the end of P7, but earlier for some
  • Third and Fourth – S1 to S3, but earlier for some
  • Senior phase – S4 – S6 and college or other means of study

Teaching at St Mary’s is organised to encourage a natural progression from one stage of learning to another. Teachers begin their work from where the child is and build upon his/her existing knowledge. When pupils change classes, there is time given for teachers to liaise with one another. Similarly, we have good links with the secondary schools and we help the staff there in every way to ensure a smooth change from primary to secondary school through pupil and staff visits. We also have valuable links with our associated nursery schools and visits to these are made during the session preceding August entry.

Children work in groups, sometimes with their friends, sometimes with other classmates or with children of similar ability. “Active Learning” is very important. At various times, group teaching, class teaching, team teaching and co-operative teaching all play their part.

© 2009-2020 Education Services, Inverclyde Council